Why it’s okay to take a break from college

It’s always been said not to “rush life”

But when you’re graduating high school and have pressure on you from trying to choose the right college, or major for that matter, how does one not feel rushed?

Everybody wants to be successful, everybody wants to have good money. But does anyone really know how hard it is just to get to that point? Please explain what 17/18 year old high school graduate student has $25,000 for not even four semesters, not to mention the books and the supplies that are a couple extra thousand dollars as well. Unless you have rich parents who pay for everything, you’re screwed. For example, in 1971, a public four year school located in your state, the tuition and fees including room and board were $1,405, of course that was a lot of money back then so let’s time travel to 30 years later. 2001 was around $8,000 which  if you have a summer job and some money saved up you could probably make almost that to pay off most of your education. Now in present time, guess how much it is for a high school graduate to go to school? $20,000, and that’s not even a private school education, it’s public. How can people who are not even 20 years old yet be expected to pay over $20,000 for a degree that probably will be low on jobs by time they graduate? It’s impossible.

People who are going to school to be lawyers, doctors, etc have it even worse. Even if you get a small scholarship you still are expected to pay so much at such a young age. The full riders are the lucky ones.

 

Another thing that really grinds my gears are the stuck up college students who “think” they have it all together. 

  1. College is not just for partying. You’re lucky your parents are paying for that “who knows for how much college semester” at Ohio State  while you’re too hungover to go to your anatomy class. Yes, meeting new people and going out and having a good time is great, but I know many people who are going to a big college for the wrong reasons.
  2. Just because you do go to a nice school, does not mean you are better than anybody else. You can get the same education at any school, many professors have even said.

It bothers me when people my age (21) rag on others because they are not in school at the moment. Some people do not go to school yet because they are not ready. Oh and because their parents don’t buy them a brand new car for school, and on top of that their whole education. I myself had taken a break from school because I don’t know what I want to do yet with my life. I’ve already wasted a lot of money thinking I knew what job I wanted in college, but this is a decision you make that effects your whole life, and at 17 years old I had no idea what I wanted to be. Yeah the parties were fun, but I’m not going to pay a couple grand per semester to go out and drink. It’s a really tough decision not knowing what you want in life, you feel completely lost but I’m also not wasting money pretending to act like I know what I want out of life at such a young age. So believe me when I say, I do not feel guilty at all.

There are some people who don’t go to school who do absolutely nothing with their life and for that matter don’t even have a job, but thats not me. I have a full time job so I can save money for when and if I do decide to go back to school. I’m sure a lot of other people are with me when I say this, you do not need to go to college if you are not ready. You are not a failure if you take a break from college. You are no lower than anyone else. If you do know what you want to do for the rest of your life at such a young age, that’s great for you! If you’re someone who has no idea what they want, don’t feel bad when someone rags on you for not being in college at the moment, congrats for not settling.

 

Don’t follow everybody else. If you are not ready please do not feel like you’re doing it all wrong. Don’t pay thousands of dollars just go fit in with the kids of today that are your age, go out and enjoy your life. Find yourself, find your calling, do not rush your self.

 

One thought on “Why it’s okay to take a break from college

Leave a Reply

